Friday, September 24, 2010

Sally's Weekly Update for 09/24/10!

Lots of great books, old and new, this week.

Sally Owen
The Mysterious Bookshop

The Mysterious Bookshop

58 Warren Street

New York, NY 10007

Ph: 212-587-1011

Fax: 212-587-1126

Open Seven Days, 11.00 a.m. - 7.00 p.m.

Weekly Update 9/24/10



By Elmore Leonard


The Mysterious Bookshop is proud to announce that we are publishing a special limited edition of this exceptional novel, signed by the author, one of the most distinguished and honored mystery writers working today. It will be produced in the same elegant format as our previous publications, almost all of which sold out on publication. It will be released before the trade edition is published by William Morrow.

The edition is limited to only 100 copies, numbered and signed by Elmore Leonard. Bound in marbled boards with a leather spine. The price is $150.00

There are also 26 lettered copies available at $275.00

Reserve your copy today.

We still have a few copies of the following true first editions:

The Hilliker Curse My Pursuit of Women: A Memoir by James Ellroy

Limited to 100 numbered copies. $150.00

26 Lettered copies available at $275.00

The Dark End of the Street, Edited by Jonathan Santlofer & S.J. Rozan

Limited to 250 numbered copies. $150.00

26 Lettered copies available at $275.00


Dogfight: A Love Story by Matt Burgess, about a drug dealer from Queens, New York, who is having a very very bad day, is an extraordinary debut. Well written, funny, and disturbing. A First Mystery Club Selection. $24.95

The Fall by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hogan is the second installment of The Strain Trilogy. If you like the Twilight Series by Stephanie Meyer, this is probably not for you!! Frightening, creepy; there’s not an ounce of romance to be found in this blood-soaked story. (I loved it!). This is signed by film-maker Del Toro (Pan’s Labyrinth) and Hogan, whose wonderful book, Prince of Thieves, is now a movie entitled The Town. $26.99

Zero History by William Gibson brings back characters from his previous book, Spook Country, although it is not necessary to have read that book.. Hollis Henry worked for global marketing magnate Hubertus Bigend once before and she swore she’d never do that again. But here she is, on his team again - not that she knows what that "team" is up to, not at first. Gibson’s plots can seem intimidating but his stories are wonderful, set as they are on the cutting-edge of culture. A Thriller/Espionage Club Selection. $26.95

The Black Lizard Big Book of Black Mask Stories is edited by our own Otto Penzler and it is receiving terrific reviews. Chandler, Hammett, McCoy, Woolrich etc. It is, of course, essential to every mystery fan’s collection. Signed by Otto. Large format paperback $25.00

Man in the Woods by acclaimed author, Scott Spencer, is a haunting thriller about a man who is beholden to no one and nothing, until he is plunged into a world of violence and finds himself on a journey of self-knowledge, guilt, and redemption. $24.99


From the Dead is the ninth mystery by Mark Billingham to feature D.I. Tom Thorne who becomes involved in a case where nothing and no one are what they seem and who finds himself close to a killer who will do anything to protect his new life. For fans of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid, or just well-written police procedurals. $43.00

Sacred Treason by James Forrester is the first in an historical series set in the turbulent times of Elizabeth I. Henry Machyn is desperate to hide a manuscript chronicle containing a secret so dangerous he fears for his life. He gives the manuscript to his friend Clarenceux who then comes to the attention of Francis Walsingham. On the run, and with the aid of Machyn’s wife, Rebecca, Clarenceux must solve the clues in the manuscript to save their lives. $33.00

Trick of the Dark by Val McDermid features Charlie Flint, a clinical psychologist, who is sent a mysterious package of press cuttings about a brutal murder which occurred on the grounds of her old Oxford college. She doesn’t know why she has been sent the package, but decides to investigate and steps back into the closeted mysterious world of Oxford colleges; she also steps into danger. $48.00

Tigerlily’s Orchids by Ruth Rendell is another extremely disturbing thriller from one of the best writers of extremely disturbing thrillers! When Stuart Ford decides to throw a house-warming party in his new flat, he invites all the people in the building. The party will be one that everyone remembers. But not for the right reasons. $48.00

C.J. Sansom is one of the most popular writers of historical mysteries at the moment. His Matthew Shardlake series featuring the lawyer from the court of Henry VIII has now, with Heartstone, reached the year 1545. Henry has debased the currency of the land to pay for his war with France which has gone badly wrong. Shardlake, meanwhile, is given a case by an old servant of Queen Catherine Parr, which will lead him into the corrupt labyrinth of the King’s Court of Wards. A British Crime Club Main Selection. $48.00


Wanted: Someone Innocent by Margery Allingham, Pony, NY. 1946. First Edition. $35.00

Uncommon paperback original containing the title novella and three short stories. Very good/near fine copy with a small tear on rear cover.

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown, Doubleday, NY. 2003. First Edition. $85.00

First state with the misprint on page 243. Very fine copy in dust jacket of the most popular novel of the century.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie, Collins, London. 1926. $1,000.00

A very good copy of this Haycraft-Queen Cornerstone.

A Toast to Tomorrow by Manning Coles, Doubleday Crime Club, Garden City, First American Edition. $350.00

Owner’s faint ex-libris blind stamp on the front free endpaper; very good plus in dust jacket. Haycraft-Queen Cornerstone.

The Monkey’s Raincoat by Robert Crais, Bantam, NY. 1987. First Edition. SIGNED. $20.00

Author’s first book, an Elvis Cole novel and Edgar nominee. Paperback original. Spine has reading creases, else about fine.

(Edwardian Mystery) The Old Bank by William Westall, Chatto & Windus. London. 1902. First Edition. $100.00

Previous owner’s name, some foxing to pages, else a very good copy in a handsome decorated binding.

The Cold Six Thousand by James Ellroy, Century, London. 2001. First Edition. SIGNED. $40.00

Precedes the U.S. edition. Very fine in dust jacket.

A Great Deliverance by Elizabeth George, Bantam, NY. 1988. First Edition. $100.00

Author’s first book. Fine in dust jacket.

The Hardboiled Dicks by Ron Goulart, Ed., Sherbourne, LA. 1966. First Edition. $45.00

Collection of pulp stories, with a long introduction about the history of detective pulp magazines. Very fine in dust jacket.

The Mission Song by John Le Carre, Hodder & Stoughton, London. 2006. First Edition. SIGNED. $45.00

Fine in fine dust jacket.

Cat Chaser by Elmore Leonard, Arbor House, NY. 1982. First Edition. SIGNED. $60.00

Fine in dust jacket which has a light crease on front flap.

LaBrava by Elmore Leonard, Arbor House, NY. 1983. First Edition. SIGNED. $45.00

Best Novel Edgar-winner. Fine in dust jacket.

Early Millar by Ross Macdonald and Margaret Millar, Cordelia Editions, Santa Barbara. 1982. First Edition. $125.00

Contains the first stories of both authors, including Macdonald’s "The South Sea Soup Co." a Sherlockian parody originally published in their high school magazine, The Grumbler, in 1931. Limited to only 150 paperbound copies. Very fine.

A Morbid Taste for Bones by Ellis Peters, Morrow, NY. 1978. First U.S. Edition. $75.00

The first Brother Cadfael mystery. Looks fine - but it isn’t. The exterior of the dust jacket has a tiny chip at top of spine, else is clean and fresh. However, there is glue residue on the flaps and on the endpapers. No other markings.

Death from a Top Hat by Clayton Rawson, Putnam, NY. 1938. First Edition. $125.00

Haycraft-Queen Cornerstone. One of the great locked room mysteries. The first Great Merlini novel. Spine slightly sunned and rubbed at tops, else very good. $125.00

The Great Merlini by Clayton Rawson, Gregg, Boston. 1979. First Edition. $100.00

The complete Merlini short stories - masterpieces of impossible crimes. Very fine in dust jacket.

Writ in Barracks by Edgar Wallace, Methuen, London. 1900. First Edition. $100.00

Scarce book of war poetry by the famous thriller writer. Hinges cracked, else very good/near fine. Laid in is a scarce pamphlet titled "When London Calls" a separately printed poem from the book. Fine.


No comments: